To retract a message
Within two minutes of sending a message, you have the option to retract it.
To retract a previously sent message, touch and hold the bubble.
In both your and the recipient’s conversation transcripts, you will see a note confirming that you unsent the message.
As long as the recipient is using iOS 16, iPadOS 16, or macOS Ventura, unsending will delete the message.
The original message will be kept in the conversation if the recipient is using iOS 15.6 or earlier, iPadOS 15.6 or earlier, macOS 12 or earlier, or SMS. If you try to retract a sent message, you will be informed that the recipient may be able to view the unsent message in the conversation history.
Recall a message you’ve already sent
Within 15 minutes of sending a message, you have the option to go back and make up to five changes.
Select the conversation containing the message you wish to edit in Messages.
Secondly, select the speech bubble by touching and holding it, and finally selecting the Edit option.
If you want to edit something and send it again or take it back, all you have to do is tap the screen.
The conversation transcript indicates that the message was modified.
When you make changes to a message and the other person is using iOS 16, iPadOS 16, or macOS Ventura, the bubble on both of your devices is updated to reflect the changes you’ve made, and you can tap Edited to view previous versions of your conversation.
A new message is sent to the recipient if they are using iOS 15.6 or earlier, iPadOS 15.6 or earlier, macOS 12 or earlier, or SMS.